Is Sugar Vegan?
If you are considering becoming vegan or just wish to be well-informed regarding the ingredients you choose to consume, be aware that commercially processed granulated (plain) white sugar is processed with bone char. I know, it is ridiculous, it would make be so happy to only see raw sugar in the store. Why must animal products and animal by-products touch so many things in our lives?
So not to be graphic, but, obviously, bits of bone char could be lurking in granulated sugar, powdered sugar, or brown sugar (which is granulated sugar with molasses added). I have read that vegan powdered sugar exists, I just haven’t see any on the aisles of Sprouts or Trader Joe’s, though I am sure specialty websites, stores, or maybe Whole Foods has some. You can make your own powdered sugar by blending raw sugar with a little cornstarch in the blender. I will admit I have not tried this yet, but plan to the next time I am whipping up frosting for a vegan cake or cupcake.
Many people are varying degrees of vegan. Some people choose not to eat at restaurants that are not completely vegan as they do not want their food contaminated, I understand and commend them. However, I am a little less stringent. If you choose to indulge in a wandering Oreo or Lorna Doone, that is your choice. I will not go on and on about the processed crap that fills they tasty morsels. Damn it, sometimes it is nice to go to an average grocery store (though honestly, I try to avoid these and shop at stores that actually carry lots or minimally processed vegan products, beyond the produce section at your local grocery store) and buy a package of cookies, though filled with processed, including bone char sugar, ingredients is still technically vegan.
Bottom line, be aware, and make your own informed decision.